Krannert Art Museum Council Gelvin Gardens Committee 2015

Krannert Art Museum Council

The Krannert Art Museum Council is the museum's volunteer support group of art enthusiasts who are committed to the museum and its mission.

Established in 1964, the Council is celebrated its 50th anniversary of service to the museum in 2014-15. Council members work closely with others who share an interest in art and strive to expand the museum’s outreach to the community and make special projects possible.

KAM Council serves and supports the museum by:

  • Providing financial support through fundraising events, such as the annual Petals & Paintings fundraising gala and auction
  • Hosting opening night receptions for exhibitions
  • Volunteer service, such as tending the Gelvin Gardens
  • Organizing art-related bus trips, art conversations, and lecture luncheons
  • Serving as arts ambassadors to the community

To make a valuable contribution to Krannert Art Museum's activities and programs, join today. All museum members are eligible to join KAM Council by paying yearly dues to fund council activities. For more information, please call 217 244 0516 or or contact us.

Upcoming Events

Wednesday, October 26 | 5:30–7 pm
KAM Council Art Conversation

What do jousting tournaments, the film Citizen Kane, and Krannert Art Museum have in common? Come to the next art conversation to find out! KAM Curator of European and American Art Maureen Warren will discuss the creation and significance of the 16th century portrait of Diane de France by François Clouet and the fascinating story of how this Renaissance masterpiece became a part of the Krannert Art Museum collection.

For more information or if you would like to RSVP for the event, please contact Chris Schaede by phone 217-244-0516 or email. Please note, seats are limited, so sign up early!

Wednesday, November 3 | 5:00 pm
New KAM Council Member Meet & Greet
Location: Krannert Art Museum Link Gallery

Thursday, November 17 · Celebrate Opening Night
Celebrate with us and get a first look at KAM's newly renovated main floor galleries. The evening will feature live music, refreshments, and the opening of new art exhibitions.

Private Preview & Reception for Museum Members | 5–6 pm Reception catered by Michaels' Catering

To attend, please RSVP to Chris Schaede by Friday, November 4 via email or by calling 217-244-0516.

Public Opening Reception | 6–7 pm
With opening welcome by Acting Dean of the College of Fine and Applied Arts and Museum Director Kathleen Harleman at 6 pm.

Public opening reception hosted by the Krannert Art Museum Council.

Friday, April 7 through Sunday, April 9, 2017
25th Annual Petals & Paintings Gala and Floral Design Exhibition

Friday, May 5, 2017 | 12 noon
Krannert Art Museum Council Spring Luncheon and Lecture
Location: Champaign Country Club, Prospect Street, Champaign

Krannert Art Museum Council "Unsung Hero" Award Winners

2001 | Harriett Shapland
2002 | Norma Howard
2003 | Nancy Morse
2004 | Phyllis Robeson
2005 | Judi Gratkins
2006 | Mary Kay Dailey
2007 | Katie Pomonis
2008 | Alice Pfeffer
2009 | Gloria Rainer
2010 | Jane Myers
2011 | Jim Sinclair and Bob Smith
2012 | Sandra Batzli
2013 | Margaret Martin
2014 | Diane Schumacher
2015 | Rosann Noel
2016 | Christopher Schaede

2015 | Krannert Art Museum Council 50th Anniversary

Krannert Art Museum Council Officers

Board | 2016–2017

Leadership Committee
Museum Director and Acting Dean of the College of Fine and Applied Arts Kathleen Harleman, Brice Hutchraft, Lisa Kocheril, Sheila O'Connor, Gloria Rainer, Chris Schaede, Diane Todd

Vice Presidents/Council Membership
Diane Todd, Sheila O'Connor

Lisa Kocheril

Recording Secretary/Communications
Marty Sierra-Perry

Corresponding Secretary
Sarah Bell

Lisa Kocheril

Museum Council Liaison
Kathleen Harleman

Committee Chairs | 2016–2017

Lisa Kocheril, Liz Jones

Petals and Paintings Tri-Chairs
Lisa Kocheril, Sheila O'Connor, Gloria Rainer

Archivist: Sandra Batzli
Calling Committee: Marguerite Maguire
Directory: Mary Kay Dailey, Lisa Kocheril
Gelvin Gardens: Gloria Rainer
Nominating Committee: Executive Board
Newsletter: Diane Schumacher

Art Conversations: Brenda Nardi, Brice Hutchcraft
Luncheons/Lectures: Jean Hagen, Renee Mullen, Sheila O'Connor, Diane Todd
Receptions: Jane Myers
Trips: Mary Beth Kurasek
Unsung Hero Award: Donna Giertz

2016–2017 Petals and Paintings Committee Chairs
Event and Table Decorations: Karen Devine
Silent Auction: TBD
Photography and Marketing: Julia Nucci Kelly
Print Design: Mary Kay Dailey
Sponsorships: Brenda Nardi
Tours: Nancy Morse, Alice Pfeffer
Volunteers: Marty Sierra-Perry

  Subscribe Calendar Donate Contact