Eric J. Garcia, Keith Knight, Ann Telnaes. Images courtesy of the artists.
Dec 01, 2022 - 5:30
Lower Level, Auditorium (KAM 62)

Join us for a roundtable discussion by political cartoonists Eric J. Garcia, Keith Knight, and Ann Telnaes, moderated by Associate Professor in Graphic Design Stacey Robinson.

This event is presented in conjunction with the exhibition Fake News & Lying Pictures: Political Prints in the Dutch Republic.

Co-sponsored by School of Art & Design Visitors Committee and Krannert Art Museum

Artist Bio | Eric J. Garcia

Eric J. Garcia, creates murals, mixed media installations, hand printed posters and his controversial political cartoons, all with the common goal of educating and challenging. He received his BFA with a minor in Chicano studies from the University of New Mexico, and earned his MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Garcia is a teaching artist, a core member of the printmaking collective, Instituto Gráfico de Chicago and one of the newest members of the Justseeds Cooperative. Garcia has exhibited nationally and can be found in the collections of the Smithsonian American Art Museum, the National Hispanic Cultural Center, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Library of Congress.


Artist Bio | Keith Knight

Keith Knight, now an honorary PHD from his alma mater, is a prolific cartoonist whose life inspired the live-action series Woke, currently streaming in its second season on Hulu. His work has appeared in MAD, Washington Post, New Yorker and dozens of other publications. 

His presentation talks are standing room only in colleges and other venues across the United States and Europe. Among Keith’s many awards are the Glyph Award, the Harvey Kurtzman Award for Best Syndicated Comic Strip, the Inkpot Award from San Diego ComiCon along with receiving a NAACP History Maker Award. He is the current Reuben Awards nominee for Artist of the Year and recently received an honorary doctorate from his alma mater, Salem State University.


Artist Bio | Ann Telnaes

Ann Telnaes creates editorial cartoons in various mediums, including animation, visual essays, live sketches, and traditional print, for the Washington Post. She won the Pulitzer Prize in 2001 for her print cartoons and the National Cartoonists Society’s Reuben for Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year in 2017.

In 2021 she was awarded the international EWK Award, named after the legendary Swedish cartoonist Ewert Karlsson.  In 2022, she was a Pulitzer Prize finalist for her illustrated reporting and cartooning.